M.F.A.N.G. Award Winners Announced

Written by on 10 December, 2018

On the 10th December, Big Stu & MJ announced live on The Wolf who you voted as winners of the 2018 Music For A New Generation Awards in a special edition of Planet Country.

Once again it was up to the fans to vote for their favourites in 2018 from a selection of finalists chosen by Planet Country. The only change for 2018 saw the ‘New Artist’ categories renamed to ‘Emerging Artist’ to allow experienced artists who are still trying to find their feet to be eligible.

The winners of the International industry awards were:

Male Artist of the Year: Keith Urban

Female Artist of the Year: Carrie Underwood

Group or Duo of the Year: Florida Georgia Line

Emerging Artist of the Year: Catherine McGrath

The Australian industry categories were hotly contested. In fact, the Australian Emerging Artist of The Year award came down to just a handful of votes.

The winners of the Australian industry awards were:

Male Artist of the Year: Casey Barnes

Female Artist of the Year: Hayley Jensen

Group or Duo of the Year: The Wolfe Brothers

Emerging Artist of the Year: Jase Lansky

This year’s awards once again included the ‘Impact Awards’. The two winners are chosen by Big Stu & MJ and all Australian industry finalists are eligible. There are two categories for the impact awards. The first is ‘Industry Impact’ which recognises an artists effort to build a presence in the industry, working hard and taking opportunities to grow as an artist and grow country music. The second award is the ‘Media Impact’ award which recognises an artist who continuously put the effort in to promote themselves in traditional media (Radio, News, TV) and digital media (Social Media).

The recipients of the impact awards were:

Industry Impact Award: Jase Lansky

Media Impact Award: Kora Naughton

Continue reading

Current track